Inferior Penmanship

Eleanor Roosevelt said,

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

That’s quite a hard statement to believe. Basically it means that it’s our choice whether or not we allow the opinions of others to affect us. I know for me personally, that it’s really hard to have people hate you for no apparent reason. I don’t think I’ve done anything to offend or hurt them, and yet they hate me. They hate everything about me. They don’t like how I look, what I say, or what I do. I’ve tried to be nice to them, but it’s exceptionally difficult being nice to people who want nothing to do with you and who don’t even acknowledge your existence.

There are those people who flat out ignore me, and then there are others who pretend to be my friends because they want something from me. They want help with their work, they want me to do something for them, or they just want to use me. Pretending to be my friends just long enough to stab me in the back with whatever information I may have trusted them with.

I can’t stand being in that place of not knowing who my real friends are and who are just pretending. As hard as it is to be nice to everyone and not allow them to make me feel insecure, I know that I can only get stronger from this situation. The sun will come out tomorrow and all that jazz. In the meantime, I guess I’ll be practicing how to protect myself from the flaming arrows that are continually being shot at me.

-Fresh Air and Deep Breaths.

Leave a Reply

