Fighting Pens

Some days we wake up and just feel defeated. It’s like our will to fight has disappeared and so we just submit to those around us.

Today was one of those days for me. I could not function properly and did whatever anyone asked me to do.

Is it called hopelessness? I don’t think so. I think it’s just a moment when you don’t want to fight with anyone, you don’t want to draw attention to yourself, and so you let go.

While feeling down and deflated today, one of my friends noticed. He asked if I was okay and if he could do anything for me. He ended up helping me in a few small ways. This showed me how sometimes the people we least expect actually care enough to help us. Some people have so much compassion when they notice someone’s sad.

I suppose that I learned something today. No matter how sad, upset, or defeated we feel, there’s always someone who can make us smile again. Even if it’s not the person we might expect.

One thought on “Fighting Pens

Leave a Reply

